Christine Linck Headshot 3 FINAL 215x300
Back to Newsroom

Glick Employee Spotlight: Chris Linck

The Gene B. Glick Company is honored to have such hard-working, dedicated employees and we are proud to recognize these individuals in a monthly employee spotlight!

Q: What is your title at the Gene B. Glick Company?
A: I am an assistant property manager at Carriage House of Muskegon/Hickory Village in Muskegon, Michigan.

Q: How long have you been with the company?
A: I started with Glick in October 2017.

Q: How did you make your way into this industry?
A: I hadn’t worked in property management before but when I saw the posting for my position, I thought that parts of my background could lend themselves nicely to the role. My previous experience includes time in customer service, health care and financial services. I applied for the job and here I am.

Q: What do you think of the industry now?
A: Property management has been an eye-opening change for me. For instance, I’ve learned a great deal about Medicaid, Medicare and the types of assistance available to residents in need since I started with Glick. I was told that it would take me a year to learn this position and I find that I am still learning.

Q: What do you do in your role?
A: I help residents and seniors who need an affordable place to live. I also work to provide whatever assistance they may need. I market and show apartments as well.

Q: What part(s) of your job do you like the most?
A: I enjoy the process and the reward of working with residents to requalify them for assistance.

Q: What would surprise people about the work you do?
A: We have a lot of responsibility in this business and trust and confidentiality are important pieces of that.

Q: What has surprised you the most about working at Glick?
A: Right off the bat, Glick sends you for training and invests a lot of time and money in you. I had never experienced this before. And the training – particularly the subsidy training – was really good and gave me the confidence to do what I needed when I got back to Michigan.

Q: Where are you from originally?
A: I am from a small farming community in Michigan named Ravenna. I was born and raised in Ravenna and I continue to raise my family there.

Q: What do you like to do in your free time?
A: When I’m not chasing after my three kids, I like to hike, cook and scrapbook.

Q: If you could travel anywhere, where would it be?
A: I would love to go to Australia.

Q: What is one item on your bucket list?
A: Beyond visiting Australia, I would like to learn to play the piano.